A. Board of Trustees

The State constitution vests management and control of the University in The Board of Trustees of The University of Alabama. In 1969, the Board promulgated bylaws establishing The University of Alabama System with a Chancellor as chief executive officer. The System includes The University of Alabama, the University of Alabama at Birmingham, and the University of Alabama in Huntsville. Each University within the System is administered by a President who reports to The Board of Trustees through the Chancellor.

Current information about The Board of Trustees (including its members, officers, meetings, and committees) and Board meetings and minutes is available from The University of Alabama System.

B. Office of the Chancellor

The bylaws of The Board of Trustees state that the Chancellor shall exercise such executive powers as are necessary for the governance of the University System and shall be the principal link between the Board’s responsibility for policy and each President’s responsibility for the individual campus. The authority and duties of the Chancellor are set forth in The Board of Trustees Bylaws.

C. Office of the President

The President is the University’s chief executive officer. The President, who reports to The Board of Trustees through the Chancellor, is the main representative of the University to the public and works closely with the Chancellor in dealing with state and federal agencies. It is the President’s responsibility to provide educational and administrative leadership to the institution. The President’s duties encompass all aspects of educational programs, external relations, personnel management, and financial management.

In carrying out the duties of the office, the President is assisted by the Chief Administrative Officer, who serves as a point of contact for key constituents, and works with the President and senior officers with institutional planning, policy development, and problem resolution, among other areas. The President is also assisted by the Provost and by vice presidents of the other major functional areas described below, by deans of the academic colleges, and by other administrative staff. More information about the President is available from the Office of the President.

D. Provost and the Office for Academic Affairs (OAA)

The Provost, who also serves as the Vice President for Academic Affairs, is the senior vice president and the chief academic officer for the University. The Provost plans, coordinates, directs, and facilitates the University’s efforts in fulfilling its comprehensive mission in teaching, research, and service. Information about the Provost, the Office for Academic Affairs staff and affiliated units, and resources and reports from this office are available from the OAA.

E. Office of Research and Economic Development

The Office of the Vice President for Research and Economic Development offers a number of programs designed to build the research community on the campus of The University of Alabama.  These activities include networking sessions to foster collaboration, funding research resources, internal funding opportunities, and professional development to enhance the ability of faculty, staff, and students to secure funding for research and other scholarly activities. Information about the office, research support, economic development, undergraduate research, and research development is available from Research and Economic Development.

F. Office of Community Affairs

The Office of the Vice President of Community Affairs and this division’s subsidiary units help the University fulfill its mission to advance the intellectual and social condition of the people of Alabama through establishing quality programs that connect the University’s mission of teaching, research, and service in ways that improve the quality of life for individuals and communities.  More information about this division and its initiatives is available from the Office of Community Affairs.

G. Office for Student Life

The Office of the Vice President for Student Life supervises departments that offer programs and services to support students and maximize their learning experiences. More information about this division and its departments and resources is available from the Office of Student Life.

H. Office of University Advancement

The Vice President for Advancement oversees development activities, advancement services, planned giving, and the Alumni Association. More information about this division and its initiatives is available from the Office of University Advancement.

I. Division of Finance and Operations

The Vice President for Finance and Operations has full responsibility for investment management, budgeting, financial accounting and reporting, human resources, auxiliary services, land management, business services, facilities and maintenance, construction, public safety, and risk management. More information about departments in this division is available from the Division of Finance and Operations.

J. Office for Strategic Communications

The Vice President of Strategic Communications oversees internal and external communications for the University and manages and promotes The University of Alabama brand worldwide. More information is available from the Division of Strategic Communications.

K. Office for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

The Vice President and Associate Provost for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion nurtures collaborative and engaging relationships with both internal and external constituents to provide effective leadership in the coordination of all diversity-related programs and initiatives. More information about these departments and initiatives is available from the Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion.

L. Academic Divisions of the University

The term “academic division” refers to any of the colleges and schools headed by a dean. The academic divisions have diverse roles, scopes, and organizations.

The chief administrative officer of an academic division is a dean. The dean, with assistance from appropriate staff, receives and makes recommendations on curriculum, staffing, promotion, tenure, development, space, equipment, and all financial aspects of a division’s operation.

If the term “college” is used independently in this Faculty Handbook, it refers to any academic division (a school or college) headed by a dean. If the term “school” is used, it refers to those schools headed by a dean, unless otherwise noted.

For more information, please see each of the academic divisions below.

  1. Capstone College of Nursing
  2. College of Arts and Sciences
  3. College of Communication and Information Sciences
  1. College of Community Health Sciences
  2. College of Continuing Studies
  3. College of Education
  4. College of Engineering
  5. College of Human Environmental Sciences
  6. Culverhouse College of Business
  7. Graduate School
  8. Honors College
  9. The University of Alabama School of Law
  10. School of Social Work
  11. University Libraries

M. Departments and Areas

In those schools and colleges divided into academic and administrative units, the department or area is both an academic unit and an administrative unit. The chief administrative officer of the department is the departmental chairperson or head. In areas, the chief administrative officer is the area head. The chief administrative officer of a school within a college is the director.

N. Faculty Members

An individual who holds an academic appointment, either full-time or part-time, and performs a combination of teaching, research, clinical, and/or service functions normally will have one of the faculty ranks described in Chapter 2. However, there are distinguished faculty titles, which can be awarded by The Board of Trustees. These distinguished faculty titles include professor emeritus, research professor, University professor, endowed chair, and endowed professor.